eClass Support
Knowledgebase: LMS Transition (Canvas)
Accessing Sandbox Courses on Canvas
Last modified on 28 June 2024 10:51 AM

All instructors and staff can access the U of A’s Canvas instance at https://canvas.ualberta.ca. Users will need to sign in with their CCIDs to access their courses. All use of Canvas is governed by the Campus Computing Use policy

At this time, only sandbox courses are available on Canvas. Student access to Canvas will be available in the Fall 2024 term.

Canvas Sandboxes

Instructors have automatically been provided a personal sandbox in Canvas that has the new U of A content template applied. This template content has been created by instructional designers and includes text placeholders and a bank of U of A graphics. The template is designed to model an effective layout for course delivery and provide instructors with prompts that make customizing course content easy and efficient. 

Instructors will find an invitation to join their sandbox on the Canvas Dashboard when they sign in which they can Accept or clear by simply entering the course:

Canvas dashboard

 For guidance on using your Sandbox, please see Getting Started on Canvas.

Creating Additional Sandbox Courses on Canvas

Any instructors or staff who do not have a Canvas sandbox course can request one at the standard eClass Course Request System. Unlike eClass, instructors can request as many sandboxes as they require. This process can also be used to create any additional sandbox courses that instructors require for content development of Fall 2024 courses. Any content developed in a sandbox course can be imported into a credit section after the full Canvas release in Summer 2024.

To request a sandbox, click on Request a Canvas Course under the 'Resources' tab from the Canvas global nav:

From the Course Request System landing page, select Request on Canvas:

When requesting a sandbox course, users can now enter a name for the course in the textbox provided:

Resetting Content in a Sandbox Course

Sandbox courses on Canvas have a slightly different configuration than other courses so that instructors can ‘erase’ anything they create when testing the system features.

To reset the content in your sandbox:

  1. Open the course settings at the bottom left of the in-course left nav menu.
  2. Click on Reset Course Content in the right-hand secondary nav menu:


This action cannot be reversed so please contact eClass support if you are unsure before proceeding.

Note: If you click on this, it will revert your course back to the original template. What happens is that the old version of the course will archive, a new version of the course will show up with the template and your course will have a new Canvas ID in the URL. This means that if you reset the course, the course URL will change. If you are sharing URLs to the course, you will have to change the URL that you are sharing. 

Deleting Template Content

If you want to remove the template content from a sandbox, you will have to delete it manually. Luckily, this can be done easily.

  1. Go to Assignments in the left-hand navigation menu. This page will have most of the assignments, including quizzes and discussions, so you can click on the menu button to the right of an assignment group and choose Delete

    The Canvas Assignments page, which points to Assignments on the left-hand navigation menu. The menu icon is selected next to an assignment group, and the Delete button is highlighted.

    You will then be asked if you want to "Delete its assignments". Select that and then click on Delete Group.

    A box that says "You are about to delete Discussions, which has 1 assignments in it". The choices are "Delete its assignments", which is selected, and "Move its assignments to Select Group". The Delete Group button on the bottom right is highlighted.

    Note: You need at least one Assignment Group, so you cannot delete the last group. You will instead have to click on the menu icon next to the assignment itself and choose Delete.

    The Assignments page. To the right of an assignment called "Quiz: Title Here (New)", the menu icon is selected, and the Delete button is highlighted.
  2. Next, go to the Pages section in the left-hand navigation menu. It will show the Front Page of the course first, so click on the View All Pages button at the top. 

    On a Canvas course, the Pages section is selected on the left-hand navigation menu. Above the Front Page, there is button that says View All Pages, which is highlighted.


    You can then select all of the pages and click on the trash icon at the top-right to delete all of the pages.

    The list of all Pages. To the left of the pages, each page has a checkbox checked on, showing that it is selected. On the top-right of the page, a trash icon is highlighted. This is the Delete button.

    Note: The Home Page is acting as the Front Page, so in order to delete it, you must first click on the menu icon to the right of the Home Page and choose Remove as Front Page.

    On the Pages section, there is only one page, Home Page, which acts as the Front Page. To the right of the Home Page, the menu icon is selected and Remove as Front Page is highlighted.

  3. Go into the Modules section in the left-hand navigation menu. You can click on the menu icon to the right of the modules and choose Delete.

    The Modules section is chosen in the left hand navigation menu. To the right of the first module, the menu icon is clicked and the Delete button is highlighted.

  4. Go to the Files section in the left-hand navigation menu. You will see three folders there. You can click on the menu icon to the right of the folder and click on Delete to remove the folder and its contents.

    The Files section is chosen in the left hand navigation menu. Next to the first folder in the file selector, course image, the menu icon is selected and the Delete button is highlighted.

(3 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)
-->