Knowledgebase: Grading Quizzes
Blocking Student Access to Your Course During Exams

Article Last Updated June 2021

An effective way of preventing students from accessing course material during exams is disabling access to your course by changing the course availability on eClass. You may want to preemptively notify your students of the course closure as some students may try accessing your course in the minutes leading up to the exam - especially if information relevant to the exam such as seating arrangements is stored on eClass.

To change these settings: 

  1. On your course main page, click on the gear icon, then on Edit settings.



  2. You will be taken to the Edit course settings page. In the General category beside Visible, adjust the value to Hide to close the class.



  3. Once you are done click on Save changes at the bottom of the page.

The course will now be unavailable to students. To re-enable student access after your exam, simply follow the same steps and adjust the value to Show.

If you have a multi-section course and want the course content to be hidden only for certain sections at a time, contact eclass@ualberta.ca and we can show you another (more complicated) method of doing this.

NOTE: Blocking students from a course will remove it from their list of courses in eClass temporarily. It is recommended to inform students of this when restricting access to the course to avoid confusion.
(0 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful